New Roboteer!

All things antweight

Moderators: BeligerAnt, petec, administrator

ajw

New Roboteer!

Post by ajw »

Hi everybody, my names Andrew, and I'm new to the forums and also robotering so thought I'd say hi.

I've been a long time fan of all things robotic but have only recently found the time and some funds to progress to buidling my own. I don't want to spam up your forums with what are probably common questions as I assume most will already be answered somewhere, so thought I'd contain it to one thread. I plan to focus on both antweights and similar size autonomus robots as I have some micro experience, but will initially be focussing on radio control (which I am completely new to). Initially I'm going to try keep costs down as much as possible, so servo drives (of which I recently bought some inexpensive micros to mess around with) and Nimh batteries, and see where I go from there.

As I mentioned, I have no previous experience with hobby radio gear, so am trying to fish around for an inexpensive system which will hopefully suffice. I've been looking at this:

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/stor ... ouse_.html

Seems good value (especially compared to what was available when I was looking into it a few years ago) though haven't got a final price for delivery from Germany yet as I haven't signed up to the website. I "believe" they are the same or simialr to the ones Giant Cod sell (but are currently out of stock) but not entirely sure of that. If anyone could chip in on that I'd be extremely grateful.

I think that's about all for now, so I'd better get reading! Thanks to everyone for providing such an informative and friendly forum :)

P.S. I'm from South Wales. Not to sure how much antweight or other weight robot activity there is around here but would be nice to hear from others in the vicinity!

Cheers

Andrew
Simon Windisch

Re: New Roboteer!

Post by Simon Windisch »

Hi Andrew, and welcome.