No control

Please post all questions and answers in here. This way people can easily see if someone else has the same problem.

Moderators: petec, administrator, BeligerAnt

Post Reply
tomboys
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 7:17 pm
Location: Northampton/Milton Keynes

No control

Post by tomboys » Thu Jun 14, 2018 8:46 pm

I just bound my devo 7e (deviation) to an orange rx r410x (dsmx, the light stopped flashing, so I know that it bound) but when I connect the robot to a battery the lights come on, but the transmitter doesn't control anything and nothing spins. I have the signal wire at the top of the receiver, I turned the transmitter on with the rudder down, I'm using bustophedon escs that were already soldered, and I can't think of anything else that could be wrong it.

Any ideas?
Tom Boys
Under construction :D

User avatar
Shakey
Posts: 1028
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Reading

Re: No control

Post by Shakey » Thu Jun 14, 2018 9:03 pm

You need to hold it in bind not only for the light to stop flashing but to then come back and stay on solidly.

https://nutsandbots.co.uk/devo7e/
Nuts And Bots - For all your components and ready built antweights!

Alex Shakespeare - Team Shakey / Nuts And Bots / Team Nuts:
AWS 44, 45, 49 & 51 Winner - Far too many robots!

tomboys
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 7:17 pm
Location: Northampton/Milton Keynes

Re: No control

Post by tomboys » Thu Jun 14, 2018 9:08 pm

I did leave it until the light came back on :(
Tom Boys
Under construction :D

User avatar
Shakey
Posts: 1028
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 8:38 pm
Location: Reading

Re: No control

Post by Shakey » Thu Jun 14, 2018 9:14 pm

Do you have a servo lying around you can use? If the servo works on the RX you'll know the ESC's are the problem, if the servo doesn't it's in the TX/RX. Just helps to start narrow down the cause.
Nuts And Bots - For all your components and ready built antweights!

Alex Shakespeare - Team Shakey / Nuts And Bots / Team Nuts:
AWS 44, 45, 49 & 51 Winner - Far too many robots!

tomboys
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 7:17 pm
Location: Northampton/Milton Keynes

Re: No control

Post by tomboys » Thu Jun 14, 2018 9:21 pm

I haven't got any spares at the moment to be honest, but I have 2 separate speed controllers, and neither motor turns, even if I attach them separately, so I'm starting to think either the transmitter or receiver doesn't work
Tom Boys
Under construction :D

User avatar
DieGracefullyRobotics
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2018 7:39 am

Re: No control

Post by DieGracefullyRobotics » Fri Jun 15, 2018 8:00 am

Some pictures might help so we can see if you've got everything in the right place. Or even a short video of you trying to bind.
Dave
Die Gracefully Robotics - Barely Even a Proper Team.

voorsk
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2018 8:11 am
Location: Stockport, UK

Re: No control

Post by voorsk » Fri Jun 15, 2018 8:13 am

Silly suggestion, I expect, but is the bustophedon turned on? It's the sort of thing I'd do. :roll:

edit: never mind, I just noticed you said the light comes on.

tomboys
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 7:17 pm
Location: Northampton/Milton Keynes

Re: No control

Post by tomboys » Fri Jun 15, 2018 1:20 pm

I'll try to take some photos/videos over the weekend. I won't be in the same house as it until Sunday now anyway.
Hopefully the answer will be that despite all my research on how to do everything, I've just done something (small and easy to fix) wrong while binding it. :oops:
Tom Boys
Under construction :D

User avatar
DieGracefullyRobotics
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2018 7:39 am

Re: No control

Post by DieGracefullyRobotics » Fri Jun 15, 2018 1:37 pm

It's often something small. I've been competing well over a decade and the other month I couldn't get a robot to work because I had the bind plug in the wrong socket on a Lemon, ha. Happens to us all.
Dave
Die Gracefully Robotics - Barely Even a Proper Team.

tomboys
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 7:17 pm
Location: Northampton/Milton Keynes

Re: No control

Post by tomboys » Sun Jun 17, 2018 5:32 pm

Hey

I recorded a video of my attempts to bind. Before I turned on with the sticks in the correct position (left stick down)
The bind plug is in the plug marked batt/bind

https://youtu.be/MViQ45Z0PTo

Afterwards I turned both off, removed the bind plug, turned back on with the sticks in the same positions, the lights came on (on the receiver and escs) but no controls worked. I've probably got a setting wrong somewhere.
Tom Boys
Under construction :D

Post Reply