General questions for first robot

Please post all questions and answers in here. This way people can easily see if someone else has the same problem.

Moderators: BeligerAnt, petec, administrator

Shrike

General questions for first robot

Post by Shrike »

Hello everyone, I am new to making ant weight robots, but I have some experience with simple autonomous robots. I was wondering if someone could help me answer a few questions before I start making an ant weight robot.

As of yet, the plan is to make a 2 wheeled robot with either a horizontal spinner, or one similar to that of robot wars antweight, Combatant. I am aware that making a spinner for the first time is unadvised, but I like a challenge, and the main reason I am into robotics is because of heavyweight spinners such as hypnodisc and tornado.

The robot will be invertible to combat flippers, hence the horizontal weapon. I want it to work like hypnodiscs, in that it does not cut, but bludgeons the opponent. However, I do not know what to make the weapon out of? Unfortunately, I do not have any metalworking tools, so I cannot make a fully custom blade. Does anyone have any suggestions on what I can do instead?

Also, is sintra an ok material to use for a chassis? It is reasonably hard but easy to work with, and whilst I do plan to use some metal (probably aluminium) on the chassis for defence, sintra is an easily accessed material. What do you all think?

Any comments are welcome :)
Doing nothing is hard to do, as you never know when you are finished.
Remote-Controlled Dave

Re: General questions for first robot

Post by Remote-Controlled Dave »

Hello and welcome aboard!