Have I made an error.

All things antweight

Moderators: BeligerAnt, petec, administrator

skadder

Have I made an error.

Post by skadder »

My son (12) wanted to get into robot building, so I decided to help. However, I have no experience with RC or electronics, so I did some research. I bought:

Barello ant 150 speed controller
two copal 60:1 motors
Technobots 40mhz tx and Rx (12g)
7.2v lipoly 800mah plus charger etc.
Flightlite 2" wheels plus hubs
2mm polycarbonate

(I have ordered a 11.2v lipoly 300mah that weighs 30g but currently don't have the charger for it! My current charger only charges as low as 0.8)

Plus other stuff like multimeter and soldering kit.

I have rigged the bot stuff together on a bit of plastic using ziplocks (or whatever they are called -- plastic trips that when you pull'em tight they lock). It works and drives pretty niftly -- it wouldn't push a brick up an incline though!

My problem is I am already at 170g and have no armour! Also my wheels with hubs and motors attached are 3" long so two of them are 6". They only way round this is to have the motors offset-- one infront of the other -- bit that seems to lack elegance! Any solutions would be great!

Especially where I can save weight.

Adam[/img]
BeligerAnt

Post by BeligerAnt »

Hi Adam and welcome to the forum!

I assume you are in the UK and building to the UK antweight rules (4" cube and 150g) as you have arrived on this forum.

I think perhaps you went wrong in not understanding that US antweights are significantly bigger and heavier than the European variety - hence the size and weight of the Copal motors.

You don't need an 800mAh battery pack for an ant (unless you're planning a very powerful spinner). You can save a lot of weight by going down to 300mAh or so, which is plenty for 2 motors and a servo lifter. You will probably want more than one battery pack to last a competition though.