Receiver/Transmitter Question

All things antweight

Moderators: BeligerAnt, petec, administrator

Michael Chandler

Receiver/Transmitter Question

Post by Michael Chandler »

Hi guys,

I am a new builder but have been registered to your site for several years!

My question is:
Can I use a two channel transmitter to operate a four chancel receiver?

I own a two channel transmitter, details of which can be found here:
http://www.rccarsandtrucks.co.uk/503_1_13386.html

The transmitter comes with a receiver that's too big to fit into my design unless I remove the case, so I'd like to use a smaller receiver, namely the Futaba R114F.

As I'm sure you are aware the R114F has four output channels. My design only requires two (no moving weaponry) so the transmitter suits my needs.

Back to the question, would the R114F be compatible provided the crystals match and the servos are plugged into the correct output channels, or am I walking into some kind of fiendish trap for the unwary?

Thanking you in advance :wink:
Andrew_Hibberd

Post by Andrew_Hibberd »

Yes.....

The first two channels should be compatable. I have used a 5 channel rx with a 4 channel tx.
TEAM GEEK!
Remote-Controlled Dave

Post by Remote-Controlled Dave »

That's fine, should work as long as everything you say matches.

What took you so long to start? lol
Die Gracefully Robotics
Winner - AWS 39
Simon Windisch

Post by Simon Windisch »

As far as I am aware the architecture allows for eight channels, and the the transmitter sends each channel's signal prefixed by that channel number so you can use a two channel transmitter with a four, six or eight channel receiver and it won't matter, but as discussed elsewhere on this forum, it's best to stick to the same manufacturer of transmitter and receiver, as they're not all 100% compatible.

Simon
BeligerAnt

Post by BeligerAnt »

Simon, the standard systems aren't that sophisticated! Maybe some of the fancy PCM ones are, I don't know.