My first Antweight flipper bot

All things antweight

Moderators: BeligerAnt, petec, administrator

Christian1944

My first Antweight flipper bot

Post by Christian1944 »

I am new to this hobby and I would like to build an Antweight bot (one pound). I figured that I would make it a flipper style bot because that seemed like the sensible type of bot to build for someone who is new to this. I would appreciate any help and tips. Also I am willing to spend a litlle money but hopefully not too much. I have build rc planes and such before so I probably have most of the electronics needed. Recommendations for anything would be helpful. Thanks in advance.
haz

Re: My first Antweight flipper bot

Post by haz »

Hi,
We are UK builders, so we have 150g antweights instead of 1 pound but I'm sure we can still help you out :)

Most of your RC plane stuff probably isn't much help, a good 2.4ghz radio would be useful though. You could make a moving platform if you are willing to sacrifice some servos and hack them for going 360 degrees. Servos aren't used much in drive trains any more as they are slow and quite weak compared to most geared motors. I don't think it would be our place to recommend drive motors for something this size but ESC's such as the sabertooth 5a, robotpower "wasps" and some "botbitz" would be fine for these sized robots.

Check around http://forums.delphiforums.com/n/main.a ... Tag=x52-40 for a bit more detail on the american style antweights, their information will be much more accurate than anything we can give you. I'd advise having a read through build diary's etc to see what the normal components are etc.

Cheers,
Harry.
Christian1944

Post by Christian1944 »