Hello, Im new to Antbots

All things antweight

Moderators: BeligerAnt, petec, administrator

Paddonjon

Hello, Im new to Antbots

Post by Paddonjon »

Hey guys

Im new to Antbots and was wondering if you could help me maybe ?

I've just finished my Antbots Prototype... its taken me 2 weeks :) its still kinda held to gether with alot of tape :D

Heres a pic of it...

This forum has been very helpfull to me.... especially when it came to trying to find the right parts ! because i know nothing about building robots lol...

Ive gotta say thanks to Peter though ! i took his advice that he posted on someone elses topic about some motors... 50:1 High Power Micro Motor + Gearbox.. i got them today and there amazing ! i cant believe how small they are..
http://www.robotbits.co.uk/index.php?ac ... oductId=10

I've also just fitted my lifting arms with the Hitec HS 82 MG servo which was also recomended on this forum... Heres a little video of them working

http://s414.photobucket.com/albums/pp23 ... 010024.mp4

I am finding it really hard to keep the weight down though.. its 165grams at the moment and i still havnt got the armor on ! I've been using aliminium because its light weight but all ive got is a frame to mount things on .. and it does offer much protection...

Also where can i get light weight batterys that are 6v ? ive seen some lipos that are 7.4 v but no 6v ones...

And the most importent question of all... how do i find out where Events and things are taken place :D
daliad100

Post by daliad100 »

Hello and welcome to the forum.

Unfortunately, it's pretty difficult to build completely out of metal. Plastics are what most people use with metal weapons to keep weight down

Lipos don't come in 6V any you will only find NiMH batteries in that voltage.

It loks like you're going to need something to stop your robot from tipping forwards when you lift things.

Try the events section of the forum to see what's up and coming and I hope to see you at a future one.